Who is Shree Krishna?

I bow down to Personality of Godhead, Narayana, unto Nara-Narayana Rishi, the supermost human being, unto mother Sarasvati, the goddess of learning, and unto Vyasadeva, the son of Satyavati.

jihvam labdhvapi yah krishnam
     kirtaniyam na kirtayet
labdhvapi moksha-nishrenim
     sa narohati durmatih

A person who has a tongue but does not glorify glorious Shree Krishna is a fool. Even if he somehow approaches the staircase to liberation, he cannot climb it.

purnah puranah purushottamottamah
     parat paro yah purushah pareshvarah
svayam sadanandamayam kripakaram
    gunakaram tam sharanam vrajamy aham

He is perfect and complete. He is the oldest. He is the most exalted of exalted persons. He is greater than the greatest. He is the Supreme Person. He is the master of the exalted. Of He who is full of bliss, who is jewel-mine of mercy, who is a jewel-mine of transcendental virtues, I take shelter.

What is the meaning of Krishna?

The Mahabharata (Udyoga parva) states:

krishir bhu-vacakah shabdo, nash ca nirvriti-vacakah;
tayor aikyam param brahma, krishna ity abhidhiyate.

“The word “krs” is the attractive feature of the Lord’s existence, and “na” means spiritual pleasure. When the verb “krs” is added to the affix “na,” it becomes “Krishna,” which indicates the Supreme Absolute Truth.’

anandaika-sukha-svami shyamah kamala-locanah;
gokulanandano nanda-nandanah krishna iryate.

“The dark, lotus-eyed Lord, the only master of the highest joy, who brings pleasure to Gokula and is the son of Nanda, is known as ‘Krishna’”.

What is Avtara’s and Avehsa?

Avatars of Vishnu – Ramayana & Mahabharata Characters

In the Smriti-shastra the great sages who have Vyasa as their leader explain that the Lord descends in six kinds of forms: 1. amshamsha (a part of a part), 2. amsha (a part), 3. avesha (entrance into a jiva), 4. kala (a full part), 5. purna (full), and 6. paripurnatama (most full).

The amshamsha incarnations begin with Marichi, the amsha incarnations begin with Brahma, the kala incarnations begin with Kapila and Kurma, and the avesha incarnations begin with Parashurama.

The Smriti-shastra explains that the purna incarnations are 1. Nrisimha, 2. Rama, 3. Lord Hari, the ruler of Shvetadvipa, 4. Vaikuntha, 5. Yajna, and 6. Nara-Narayana rishi.

The paripurnatama form of the Lord is Shri Krishna, who is the original Supreme Personality of Godhead Himself. He is the master of countless universes. He is splendidly manifest in the realm of Goloka. 

The amsha incarnations are said to oversee the execution of the Lord’s mission (in the world). The amshamsha incarnations are understood to perform the work of executing those missions and various avesha incarnations Lord Vishnu enters (a jiva), executes His mission, and then departs.

Millennium after millennium Lord Hari’s kala incarnations teach and establish the principles of religion, and then disappear. The purna incarnations are said to include the catur-vyuha incarnations. They are said to be the places where heroic powers and the nine rasas are seen.

There are another thoughts that the form of the Lord where all powers and glories enter is His paripurnatama form, the original form of the Lord Himself. The transcendental qualities people see distributed among the Lord’s purna incarnations are all present in the Lord’s original, paripurnatama form.

paripurnatamah sakshac
    chri-krishno nanya eva hi
eka-karyartham agatya
   koti-karyam cakara ha

The Lord’s original, paripurnatama form is Shri Krishna and no one else. Coming (to this world) to execute one mission, He executes millions of missions.

Shree Hari…

Post Author: Mahabharata World

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *